A New Gluten-free Pie Crust Recipe

I have amazing memories of my childhood, and one of my favorites is of helping my Dad make pies at holidays. He would get everything in the bowl and sit down with it in his lap where I could watch and help and cut in the butter and mix the ice water in. He taught me all I know about a good pie crust, and they were good! Best of all was the feeling of making them with him; he would always have his old records playing quietly in the background, and my Mom would usually be working around us making dinner. My brother and sister would be zooming around, and it was just a good feeling. I really missed pie when we went gluten-free, not just because I really like the taste of good pastry, but for the memories and “feel” I get when making it. It has been nearly 6 years for us, and we now have pie that is as good as I remember!

GF Pumpkin Pie

In preparation for the holidays I have hit upon a really, really good gluten-free pie crust recipe. I took a basic recipe that was pretty decent but needed some cleaning up for health and added what I knew of flours and nutrients to get a crust that is flaky, soft, holds together, and tastes like a half whole wheat/half white wheat pie crust.  It is truly the best I have had in a long time, and is perfect for pot pies, fruit and custard pies, and other pastries as well. When our son saw it he exclaimed “It looks just like all those pies other kids get to eat!” and everyone has loved the taste. In the past we would end up eating the fillings out of our pies and leaving the crusts because they tasted so horrible, but now we can enjoy it all. What a treat! Here is the recipe, just in time for Thanksgiving 🙂

Jordana’s Gluten-fee Pie Pastry

  • 2/3 cup ice water
  • 1 Tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 1 cup amaranth flour
  • 2 cups arrowroot starch powder
  • 1 cup tapioca flour
  • 1 Tablespoon guar gum
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 cups butter right from the fridge (that’s 1 lb.)

~Combine the ice water, apple cider vinegar, and egg yolks and set aside.

~In a large bowl, combine flours, sea salt, and guar gum. Add butter and cut in with a fork or pastry cutter until all the flour is combined with the butter. With a fork, mix in the egg and water mixture until the dough is smooth and sticky.

~ Divide the dough up on 3 pieces of plastic wrap to make 3 equal disks. Gently press into a round disk shape and wrap with the plastic wrap. Refrigerate 1 hour.

~ Let disks sit at room temperature 10 minutes. Place a sheet of wax paper on a flat, strong surface and dust lightly with sweet rice flour. Unwrap one disk and place on the wax paper and dust lightly with more sweet rice flour. Place another sheet of wax paper over the the disk to make a “sandwich” and gently roll the disk into a shape to fit your pie plate. Remove the top piece of wax paper and lift the bottom wax paper carefully to flop the dough into an un-greased pie plate. Gently press in and then remove the wax paper. Patch any holes or thin spots and tuck the edges under and flute (crimp) the edges.

~ For a pastry that gets baked after filling you are ready to add your filling and bake as directed. For a pre-baked crust, use a fork and poke holes into the bottom of your crust. Bake at 425°F for 18-20 minutes. Allow to cool completely and fill.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Cakes & Cookies, Gluten-free, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Gluten-free Pie Crust Recipe

  1. Thanks for this recipe! My daughter is allergic to wheat gluten and misses the baked items she loves! Maybe we can make one of these for her.

    • Your welcome, and I bet she would really love it! I forgot to mention this makes 3 singe deep-dish crusts for a 9-inch pie plate. We just wrap what we don’t use really well for later. It will store for about a month in the fridge.

  2. Denise says:

    Thank you Jordana!!!!! I’m supposed to eat gluten-free and wheat-free, but when it comes to pie crust, I admit I cheat. Now it looks like I won’t have to! 🙂

Leave a Reply

