I Got a Package

Late last night, after talking to my Dad on the phone, I went to check the mailbox. Inside I found to huge boxes that barely fit, and inside those boxes were the sweetest of surprises. One box was from a long-time friend and her husband. She had put a book series inside, and a cookie press! Along with an older cookbook for baking wheat-free! It was so unexpected, and as always, so thoughtful. I’m looking forward to reading the books!

In the other box, from my Grandma Pat, was a doll. Even this morning, as I write, tears start to form when I think of the doll. She is a simple, hand stitched and beaded native American doll. My Great Grandma bought it for my Grandmother 25 years ago, and it has seen the love of little girls and is one of my Grandma’s treasures. She makes me feel close to my Grandmother, despite the years that pass where I don’t see her because of distance and farming. There is a single silver hair on her from my Grandma that I cannot bear to remove. I just sat and held her for a while, thinking of Grandma.

I just wanted to share. It’s amazing how something so little, so old and even worn by age, can mean so much, but it does.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Got a Package

  1. LindaG says:

    I think many things mean more the older they get. What a lovely gift. 🙂

Leave a Reply

