My Mixer is Here!

My replacement Kitchenaid Pro-600 stand mixer is here, and I just had to make bread after so many weeks without it! Oh, boy, we are all so excited to have a loaf of bread again! See, it was on back-order, and after 4 weeks I called to ask when it might ship and was told it was still on back-order. I told the gal I really missed my mixer, and she said “Well, if you don’t mind another color we can ship one tomorrow”! Are you kidding me?! All this time over the color 🙂  I told her to just get me a mixer for the holidays, and now have a steel blue mixer on the counter! This is what it looks like;

So, I wanted bread. I mixed up 2 loaves of gluten-free amaranth bread. The mixer was so much quieter than the other one; there must have been something busted from the start! And it doesn’t shake the steel table it sits on like the other one did either. Much more pleasant! So, as I was saying, I was mixing bread and the boys kept coming up to me asking question after question. I put in the wrong amount of flour and told them to do something out of my kitchen if they wanted bread and set them down with some school work. They still had questions, but I was doing better. I got everything in pans and gave my parents a call to chat. 2 hours later my bread still had not risen. I was getting a bit frustrated when the light-bulb turned on; I had forgotten to add the yeast. Yup. Flat bread. So, I added the yeast and re-loaded the pans, let it rise, and am now baking it. It doesn’t look quite normal, but it will do. The moral of this story is….kick those question asking munchkins out of the kitchen when baking!!!!!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Mixer is Here!

  1. Rachel Murray says:

    So funny, I have done that before for the same reason. It took me awhile to figure out why it wasn’t rising!

  2. LindaG says:

    Wonderful mixer. Haha. I’m sure your bread will be great! 🙂

  3. Laura Little says:

    Oh my goodness! I’ve done the same thing! We should string Caution Tape across the kitchen doorway when we’re mixing bread! So glad you are back in bread!

Leave a Reply

