Chicken Killing Day

Today will be spent helping a friend cull her flock. They got a respiratory disease and she has to start over. We will have to do the same with our older birds in spring because we think the same birds that contaminated her flock also contaminated ours. It’s not a problem for humans, but it is for the little chicks we are raising up. Right now we are keeping them far apart and hoping for the best, and we will all have meat in our freezers. It’s going to be very busy! My husband is staying home to over-see the new roof being put on our house, and the boys are volunteering to help with the chickens if they get to play with their friend after 🙂  I hope you all have a good day, and are enjoying a loving holiday season!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Killing Day

  1. LindaG says:

    Sorry to hear your chickens got infected, but it’s wonderful that you will get good meals from them still.
    I hope your chicks stay well!

Leave a Reply

