Dancing with Chickens

As many of you already know, today we killed chickens at a friends house. All said, we dressed around 40 of them, a full days work. And we had fun, despite the gross-factor. I forgot my camera, so I decided to paint a written picture of the day for your enjoyment.

I was running late. My husband and I were not on the same wavelength over who was going to have the kids. They wanted to go with me, so they had to be gotten ready and a lunch packed, along with the cooler, knives, and aprons. When we arrived, Tom, Jennifer, and Chuck were already working, and the boys ran off to join the other 4 boys. Shortly after we got there, Jeff came to help out and learn (and did really great!). It was quite chilly, which was good, but rather hard on the people. We set up stations and got to work.

There was a concealed handgun class going on at the other end of the property while we were working. Tom’s hatchet would go *thunk*, the guns would go *pop, pop, pop*, and the chickens wings would go *flap, flap* in tight succession while the rest of us talked as we plucked feathers and cleaned the birds. You could here boys hollering as they played boy-ish games of battle and bloodshed (yet not one was willing to clean a bird for us lazy old folks). Talk ranged from health and livestock to politics and dreams. We had to keep things interesting as the day drew on and the job became monotonous. I garnered some laughs as I danced with dead, plucked chickens, and Jennifer had an egg shoot out in her lap. We may sound gross, but that’s a lot of birds to clean! I think we were all a little insane by the end, but we also felt something had been accomplished. It’s a good feeling to work together, to fellowship and laugh with others of the same mindset. It’s community. It feels good to be part of one here. It feels good to know these same people would be here if we needed them, and that we can help them out a little too. I can’t adequately describe the bond created in working together with common goals in mind, the depth of friendships created, but its very, very good. It took a long time to find, but I sure am glad to know these people and be part of this budding community! And I’m really thankful for Tom and Jennifer sharing their birds with us at the days end; it was very generous! And now, good-night! Time to rest!!!!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Chickens, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

