Busy and Sick

Moon Picture I Took

Holidays are over and we are getting back to the grind of daily life, including school, work, and homesteading with a vengeance.  And to welcome us back we got a little old cold virus to help us enjoy the return. I say that tongue-in-cheek, just so you know. I would be quite happy if this little bug would go elsewhere. So, today we are mostly resting. However, many things need to be done, and there is very little time and lots of deadlines.

First, we of course are devoting lots of time to school. The kids are finally getting some of the parts of reading and math that have stopped our forward progress. This is very good! In fact, they are so ready it seems almost effortless to teach them. Kids learn best if given time to mature sometimes, and the process is far less painful.

Second, we are working on the homestead. Well, as much has we can in January! We are adding 3 more angora rabbits for fiber, one of which is a female so we can do some breeding as well. This will help pay for the rabbits feed instead of just getting the fiber, plus we have a venue for selling fiber thanks to a friend. I have lots to learn there. I also need to get cracking on preparing for bees. I really wanted to establish a hive this year, but am not completely certain I am ready for that. There is a lot to know about bees, and I am nowhere near being informed. The good thing about jumping in is that I would learn, one way or the other!

In addition to the rabbits and bees, I want to build an aquarium for fish to run an aquaponics system. Haven’t decided on the fish for sure, but I really like the idea and have a limit on available dirt. The neat thing about aquaponics is that I can go up with it! If I build the system strong enough I should be able to get 2 or three levels that run to one another and allow me to grow up a wall or fence instead of out into our diminishing yard space. This is sort of a big, no… HUGE!… task, so I am a bit swamped right now.

However, my favorite part of right now in January, is the planning of my garden. I really love getting to choose crops and create new garden space. I am quite excited about adding the herbs to the front yard this year, even if I can’t do everything in beautiful stone and brick. I love stone walkways and meandering paths, but you just can’t do much of that on a tight budget or super small space. I would love to have brick raised beds, or just something pretty, but that is also in short supply, so for this year we shall look a little hill-billy, but no one will notice once the plants start falling over the sides. I have a list a mile long from Seed Savers Exchange for seed, and need to place the order soon. I am growing my own seedlings this year, and will hopefully be better at it than in other years. I am also planning on saving lot’s of seed this year so I don’t have to buy again, and since we don’t have guineas anymore I might actually be successful 🙂

The buck pen is getting a grape arbor for shade this year, and I will be adding grape vines to our pool shelter as well. It’s rather exciting to think of all these plans, and even if only a few of them are accomplished I will be happy. It’s a full-time job setting it up and keeping it running, so I am really glad my boys are getting bigger and actually able to help some now. Still, it’s a lot to do, so I am not online as much, no am I checking out others blogs or even reading about stuff; instead i am busy doing! I miss ya’ll, though, so wanted to let you know why I am missing so much of the time.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Busy and Sick

  1. LindaG says:

    Go you! I look forward to your updates on how things are progressing. 🙂
    Hope you’re all able to kick the cold bug, too.

  2. laura little says:

    Sorry you have a cold bug. They are so evil! But glad that you are full of plans and promise for the months ahead. Your ‘hill-billy’ reference made me laugh. Last week my husband and I were shoveling about fifteen hundred pounds of crusher run out of the bed of the pickup into some lovely pot holes in our gravel driveway. I said,’there has to be a way to rig up a hill billy dump truck.’ He said, ‘yeah, it’s us.’ Hill billy is simple and it works. Yay for it!

Leave a Reply

