Her Baby is Gone…

The last of our kids for sale went home last Sunday, including Ammi’s last kid from this time. Every morning she stands at the kid-door when I let the other babies out and waits for her baby. When he doesn’t come out she calls and calls… waiting… but he doesn’t come. She doesn’t care to eat, she lays down on the floor when I try to get her to go on the milk stand. Still, her milk keeps coming. Slowly, she seeks the comfort of her older babies, Abigail and Adina, and her adopted baby, Niabi. It makes me sad, so sad, to watch her mourn. How can you tell your goat her babies are fine? Eventually she will accept he is gone, but she will remember him. She remembers all her babies. Poor Ammi….

Ammi and Her Baby

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Her Baby is Gone…

  1. Darla O'Neill says:

    We had a cow that lost her newborn calf during a snowstorm. The ground was too hard to dig a grave, so we found a deep ditch and covered the baby with big rocks. Oftentimes we’d find her hanging out by herself at the rock grave for several years. I’ve read some research that cattle can remember bad experiences for 3 years (why it’s important to treat your livestock with kindness) and we certainly observed that with Silver Belle. She was also separated from her first baby (when baby was two yr old heifer) for two+ years and when they were reunited there was no doubt that they recognized each other. They kept each other company for as long as we had them afterward and we sold them to the same farm 🙂

  2. Denise says:

    That happened with our ND doe Twister. When her herdmate kidded with twins, Twister promptly adopted the buckling and began feeding him. She came back into milk and fed him the entire time (along with his dam – he was so fat!) until he was sold. When she cycled again, we put Twister in with the buck. She loves her babies!

  3. Patty says:

    😦 Oh, sad. You’ve just made me think about a fascet of goat ownership I haven’t thought of before. I’m just new to this, but the two times I’ve seen mothers and babies separated on my friend’s farm, the mothers seemed happy to be rid of their kids. How hard it will be if I have a mom like Ammi come summer.

    • Most of my does don’t have a problem when their kids leave, but Ammi is a tough one. I will never sell her (despite the constant requests I receive) because I doubt she would survive going anywhere but back to her birth farm. She is a special case, but even the others cry for a day or two.

  4. Sarah Grove says:

    This really is a sad thing and I too have witnessed this extreme connection between Mommy and her kid(s.) Oddly. I think the trait is stronger in my ND’s versus my Nubians and Boers. I wonder if this has been anyone Else’s experience? It kind of causes me to dread kidding season just a bit since my very first group is supposed to be sold as bottle babies from birth. Hmmm…I’m having second thoughts on that one too…:o(

Leave a Reply

