Rabbits Galore

We have 3 new rabbits, Angora rabbits! That brings us to a total of 5 bunnies, more than enough to my way of thinking. Jazz is female and I plan to breed her to help pay for feed costs, Petey is neutered, and Spindle is a male I will use. He and Cottontail are going to be the breeding bucks, Jacob and Petey the pets πŸ™‚ Jazz growled at me for a few days, but is letting me pet her now.

Of course with new animals comes new homes. I spent 3 days scavenging for hutch materials and building as I went with just a general idea in mind for what I needed to build. I am quite happy with what I came up with, and the bunnies seem content as well. Here are some pictures.

The old hutch is the one with the white and black bunnies on the left. The new part is the slightly shorter addition on the right.

This is the back side. I still have a bit of work to do, and then another hutch will be built along the back of the shed here to house the doe and baby bunnies (I will have a removable divider). The little cage is holding Jazz for now (short, but actually quite spacious).

This is Jazz.

Here is Petey in his new hutch. We used an old dog kennel that was scrap; it worked pretty well, but I need resting places, thus the box.

This is Spindle

All five bunnies need nails done and brushing, but thankfully our children have really embraced having rabbits. They want to help care for them, so I am planning to let them. JJ has claimed Petey as his, and Jameson really likes Jazz and Cottontail, so I guess I get Jacob and Spindle and James has to share Petey (his favorite) with JJ. I think I might check into what is required to show rabbits, just so the kids can do it. I don’t want to show the goats, but rabbits may be a little more laid back (I hope!). Jameson helped me build the hutch, getting quite good with the drill and hammer. He was very proud that he could actually help me instead of being in the way.

 

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Fiber Rabbits, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rabbits Galore

  1. laura little says:

    Do you remember the Countryside article about rabbits being taught to run an obstacle course? I can see your boys having fun doing that!

  2. LindaG says:

    I think you and your son have done a fantastic job!
    How do you go about scavenging materials? Just re-purpose what you have, or look somewhere like freecycle? Just curious. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ I re-purpose things from around here, and I go find stuff at the dump stations and ask people if I see stuff in yards. I LOVE my truck! In this case, a lot of the stuff came from a HUGE merchandise rack from a feed store in town. The guy had ripped out a bunch of stuff for a new renter in another building. I got tons of plywood and pegboard. The dog cages were trash we were given (they didn’t work anymore) and it took me 2 years to figure out how to tear them apart, but they have made great cages! I’m not shy about trash, lol!

      • LindaG says:

        That is awesome! Good to know about these things. I will have to work at it, because I am definitely shy about many things. :*)
        Hope you all have a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

