Hump Day!

So, it’s Wednesday. Hump day, as they say. On a farm, is there one? Somehow I don’t think so. Work will continue, even in small amounts, on other days. Today is planned out with work and more work of course. As is tomorrow. And the day after that. I enjoy it though, but from time to time I long for the days of ease when I could tone my body in the gym instead of the barn and sit and read a novel for hours on end without feeling guilty.

We have had very wet weather. Not just damp, but wet! The goats stayed inside constantly and the barn now smells bad, so it has to be cleaned very well today and limed. The garden is nearly ready for early plants and so the chickens need to be moved to their own run. We also need to turn the compost piles, and I would like to “cook” the front herb beds so the weeds are killed off before spring planting. I will be ordering seed today, heirlooms of course, and hopefully I will have better success with transitioning them to the outside. The potatoes I saved from last year are ready to go in the ground for early crops, and I need to figure out where I want them since they are second year heirlooms and I want to know how they do specifically. I will be ordering some others this year, but am curious to know how my saving worked. I will try to get some pictures for you as I go through the day 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hump Day!

  1. LindaG says:

    I hope your saving brings you fantastic results.
    Why do you lime the barn?
    And how do you ‘cook’ the garden to get rid of weeds? This is something I would love to know.
    Thanks for this post. Have a wonderful day!

    • I lime the barn floor to “sweeten” the earth from the goats peeing. I do the same under rabbit hutches. Their urine is very strong and gives off an ammonia smell that is very bad for everyone concerned.

      I cook the garden beds where I dumped goat bedding directly without first composting it by putting black plastic over the beds and weighting it down. It will heat up quite well and “cook” the bedding, doing a quick composting of the materials and killing seeds from weeds that may be in the bed. It doesn’t take long to realize raw bedding gives you lots of weeds you never intended to grow!

Leave a Reply

