Spelling Bee Results, Illness, and More

The spelling bee went well. Jameson came in second, and there was a 3-way tie for first as his group exhausted their list of words and unknown words don’t start until fourth grade. He handled going to sit down very well (he was the second to go out, and after 18 rounds!) and I was so proud of him the whole day!

Okay, so after the bee we went around filming HD background videos for my husband who is doing lots of chroma key work (green screen). We spent a couple hours doing that, but started feeling really bad so we went home. By bed-time I had the flu, bad! I didn’t even milk or feed any animals, something that only happens maybe once a year for me. I am getting better today, probably from the amount of elderberry juice I have been drinking!

So, since I was feeling better I worked on the addition to the chicken coop. The one I built last year was only meant to house 6 full-size birds, so with 27 I really needed to expand! I scavenged and re-purposed tons of materials, but I have a really nice addition almost completed. It takes a lot more time doing things this way! I’m doing some embellishments to make it cute, and put everything at a level where our boys can take over the chicken chores. JJ helped me with painting, but it was dark so I couldn’t get any pictures when we finished. I will tomorrow, providing I don’t relapse πŸ™‚ I only spent around 3 hours outside working, but it felt like a lot more!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homesteading. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spelling Bee Results, Illness, and More

  1. LindaG says:

    Hope you continue to get well!
    Congratulations to Jameson! He did wonderful. πŸ™‚

  2. laura little says:

    Jameson should be proud of himself! What a great job! And you, you start taking care of yourself when you are sick, you silly girl. Your body needs time to recuperate. :O)

Leave a Reply

