Painting the Chicken Coop

I have been talking about the chicken coop addition I have been working on for a while now, and it is finally almost complete. An end wall in a nest box and latches, plus a gate to the pen, are all I need before adding chickens. YAY! In the interest of creativity I got this strange, awesome idea last night. A really FUN idea! You see, a while back a friend gave me this really cool decoration from her kitchen. I want to put it in mine, but need shelves, so I decided to hang it on the coop. Then I got another cool idea; I wanted to paint! Yep! Paint the coop. And not just plain paint, I wanted pictures! So the kids and I set out to paint today. They painted signs for their gardens and I painted doors. All in all I am rather pleased with our creative efforts. See?!

This is the plain coop after JJ painted the doors white for me.

This is the side view of the nest boxes and doors. It's designed so the children can easily collect eggs.

Here is the roost. This is where I used a few pieces of bought wood; everything else was scavenged. The roof is made from pallets and old tin off of a barn (I think). It leads into the old coop at the back.

This is inside the nest boxes. There is a walkway across the front and I still need that end wall, but it can be done later.

Jameson painting his sign.

JJ painting HIS sign.

And HERE is the painting on the doors πŸ™‚ Artsy.... Think the hens will lay better with it?

Closer view of the doors on the left.

And a closer look at the doors on the right. I really like my rooster πŸ™‚

Anyway, that’s the coop. I hope it was entertaining πŸ™‚

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Chickens, Homesteading, Saving Money on the Homestead and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Painting the Chicken Coop

  1. The coop looks great. I think I should start raising chickens. Looks like fun.

  2. You are so imaginative! That looks awesome and what a fun family activity πŸ™‚

  3. cindy says:

    Really, really like the chicken coop! You’ve inspired me and now my Grand kids are going to have a lot of fun with the Bunny cages, chicken coop and duck house!

  4. Shar @ Menagenary Farm says:

    Absolutely LOVE IT!
    Shar @ Menagenary Farm

  5. Claire says:

    This looks fantastic! Encourages me to make improvements to my coop. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  6. laura little says:

    I love it! What great little artists you have!

  7. Patty says:

    Super awesome, fancy coop! I’m pretty sure I’d lay better using those boxes if I were a chicken. πŸ™‚

  8. All your feedback is so encouraging! Cindy, I think your right; bunny cages HAVE to be next! πŸ™‚

  9. Kori says:

    This is so cute! I think I am going with the same look! My kids will love this! Thanks for the wonderful idea! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

