Another day on the farm

It’s cold today. After temps in the 70’s we dropped in a day of blustery wind to just above freezing, and in the 20’s by nightfall. It’s COLD! The wind has made my yard look like a hurricane came through, possibly worse. Feed bags that were nicely stored are all over the yard, as are the boxes I wanted to use in my new garden beds. The piece of tin I forgot to nail on the new chicken coop roof blew off and got a bit bent, and the goats…. well, I think demons got hold of them today! Now THATS a story!

~ Since I know you are dying to hear the goat story, here goes: Farm Girl goes to the goat barn to milk. It’s cold and still a bit blustery. The dog trips her on the way to the barn and she dumps wash water on her jeans and feet (which are in mesh running shoes) so they begin to freeze immediately. Upon reaching the barn and opening the door a gust of wind yanks the door out of her grasp to bang it on the barn and then thumps her rump as if encouraging her to get moving…fast!

Inside the barn the noise levels are deafening. Goats that want mom, adults that want fed and milked, and bucks snorting on the other side of the fence and bawling their silly heads off to girls who really don’t care. Farm girl goes to let the first milk doe into the  parlor, but nary a goat is to be found. She enters the yard and calls to her sweet little girls, when the whole herd bursts from the main loafing area right for her, leaping and kicking up their heels and bowling her right over, only to run around the yard showing NO interest in being milked! Farm girl gets up and dusts her now both wet and sore bum off and attempts to catch the first goat that passes her, only to fall on her face as the goat lunges the other way. The ensuing chase of each and every milk doe, combined with the fact that each time Farm Girl has one caught and tries to enter the milk parlor the rest seem to suddenly think that is the perfect place to go as well, created a very tired, very cold, very irritable woman.

The worst of the bunch was my darling LoveSpell, an odd bird at the best of times, and totally impossible this day. It reminded FG of the day her parents first left her in charge of her brother and sister at the tender age of 8 or 10, when she tried to get them to clean house and when they wouldn’t she tried to spank them, only she couldn’t catch them as they wound under, over, and around tables and the sofa. For LoveSpell, the hay manger was the choice. As Farm Girl went to one side, Love would go under to the other. Back and forth Farm Girl and goat went, until in a desperate maneuver Farm Girl dives UNDER the manger with the goat and snags her by the collar. The goat was going to get milked, one way or another!~

So ends the morning, and all that for half the usual amount of milk as the cold snap had everyone at lower production. We also have 2 first time goat mommas due to kid this weekend, so I have been making frequent barn checks. We have a waiting list a mile long, so I may have to come up with a reservation policy for the farm. We are getting seeds planted, and have a full week ahead. We also looked at some land we loved, but there were restrictions we didn’t like and they wouldn’t take off, so I am saddened over not being able to pursue it. I feel so blessed that we have a good home and enough land to do all we do, but I also dream. It’s hard to hope your dream might come true, and then have it not even start before dying. However, God has a plan, and in His time all will come about. I am blessed 🙂  Have a good night, and I will “see” you later!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another day on the farm

  1. LindaG says:

    Wow. Really rough day.
    *hugs* and God Bless.
    Have a better day tomorrow. *hearts; 🙂

  2. laura little says:

    Your babysitting experience was identical to one I had with my younger brothers. I figured that I was going to be the one to make those boys “mind”. I remember chasing them, yelling “You’re supposed to respect your elders! I’m your elder!” lol!

Leave a Reply

