Chicken Zombies

This morning dawned cold and clear. I headed to the barn to do the morning chores, milking and feeding the goats, rabbits, and guinea pig. Next I looked in on the chickens and gave them their water, noting they were out of feed. I didn’t have any more and shopping day is tomorrow, so I decided they could forage in the yard today. I pondered the flock, trying to decide which roosters were going to be culled for food this week. I noticed one, who had been looking a bit down for the last week, was really bad off. I decided he needed to be removed immediately, and was not healthy enough to be served to the family since I didn’t know what the problem was.

Now, here is where you stop if you have a weak stomach…..

If your still reading…. So, I picked up the sick rooster without any fuss, took him out of the chicken yard, and proceeded to break his neck for a quick dispatch. I chucked him in a feed-sack for later disposal (it was pretty cold) and set him outside the fence so the dog wouldn’t mess with him. An hour or so later I saw the feed-sack gently float past the window in the wind, obviously empty. I went out to fetch it and collect the bird, but it was gone; some animal must have gotten it. I didn’t care really, it was just destined to be buried, and there was no mess, so I was pretty cool about it.

Then, a few moments ago, I looked out the window, and there before my eyes is a chicken, outside the huge fence. And not only is it a chicken, it’s the chicken I killed this morning, pecking around and looking all over as if his neck was never broken! Now, I have killed a number of chickens, I know how to do the deed! I know he was dead! He flopped, flapped, and just laid there in the dead pose, even when tossed in the sack and thuncked all over the place. I do not know how, but there is a very much alive rooster now on the loose. Oh, and he doesn’t exactly want me to catch him again 😉

This is the "dead" rooster, looking very much alive, from the window I was looking out.

And another view to prove he IS moving around!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chicken Zombies

  1. Lindsay says:

    He wanted your grains!

  2. LindaG says:

    Maybe he just needed his neck… popped? Don’t know the term, lol.
    Still. I probably would have freaked out, lol. It is obviously not his time to go. 🙂

  3. laura little says:

    Hmmm… Next time try a bullet to the head. Zombie Hunters all over swear by it. :O)

  4. You are all too funny! Hmmm…a bullet to the head…. I’m not to sure what my neighbors would think about that, though the threat of a chicken zombie might change their minds, haha! Linda, I still think it’s his time to go, but maybe we should eat him after all! However, he doesn’t want me to catch him right now, so…. even for grains Lindsay!

Leave a Reply

