Of Voles and Soft Hearts

I was doing yard and garden work yesterday, cleaning the buck barn and getting another compost pile underway, and moving old compost into garden beds, when I found a bundle of straw and leaves. Fearing a hornet nest I tore it open and found 4 tiny voles. Voles are a little like a mole and a little like a mouse. They are not as destructive as either, and can’t see except for light and dark, and they have these short little tails. What I had found was a small nest with four babies. I called the boys over to see them and explained that they wouldn’t survive, but the boys wanted to hold them and make them a home in a bucket, so I let them.

Later on my husband came home and begged me to try and raise them. So, as you might guess, we have all four voles in the house in a little shoe box. We are feeding them goats milk, warmed up a little, with a leur slip syringe as small as I could find. I had bedded them with some angora fiber from our rabbits only to find that was a big mistake. One of the babies wrapped it around his nose and we had to carefully cut it off. The poor thing was really hungry from his struggles. So far they seem to be doing well enough. I don’t know how long they will live, but we will try. Nothing like live animals to get your kids involved, that’s for sure! Here are some pictures.

Baby voles in their box last night. We have now removed the rabbit fiber.

Trying to feed the voles

They are really little! And active!

Still trying to get the critter to stay still and drink the milk.

JJ with a vole

JJ and vole again

And once more 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homeschool, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Of Voles and Soft Hearts

  1. LindaG says:

    Well, it will be an interesting time, no matter what happens. Good luck!

  2. Danielle B. says:

    How sweet, when I was little my rough, tough Grandpop would always bring me anything he accidentally “un-nested” so that I could try to save it. For years I had unusual “semi-pets” living throughout our farm. They didn’t all make it but the memories sure did!

  3. Well, it turns out these are baby moles, not voles. Yup, carnivores, not herbivores. Here is a cute mole video my husband found.

  4. kristilynn78 says:

    If they make it and you find yourself with nowhere to release them let us know. Our farm backs into State Park land so there are lots of places we could release them to burrow and be happy. Good luck!

    • They died after 4 days. All of a sudden they just wouldn’t eat anymore, it was very sad. The kids were just telling me today that they miss them. You would think, with all the animals we have, that the moles would be the least exciting and missed 😉

Leave a Reply

