Rosemary and Lactation

Rosemary is a great herb. I love it! It smells awesome, is an evergreen shrub so it looks good all winter here, and it flowers the prettiest blue flowers. It is a natural wormer, and astringent. It also, much to my dismay, decreases lactation. And just how did I learn this? There is not much information online about this herb and lactation, so when I couldn’t find any fault in giving it I fed an armload to my milk goats. Yep, a big armload. 2 days ago. Now their milk production is way down! Boy do I hate learning things this way.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rosemary and Lactation

  1. Patty says:

    Oh, I’m going to have to remember this. The only good thing about learning something like this the hard way is being able to share it with others. Thanks! I hope it picks up again. You’ll have to make them some mother’s milk tea. 😉

  2. laura little says:

    That’s an important bit of knowledge you’ve picked up there, Jordana! Herbs have so many properties that we don’t fully understand; A blessing and a cursing. What is the mother’s milk tea made up of?

    • Mother’s Milk Tea © Millie Fodor
      1part Blessed Thistle
      1 part Fenugreek
      1/2 part Hops
      2 parts Fennel
      1 part Nettle

      Grind the seeds a bit so that water can come in contact with the inner parts when you brew your tea. To prepare: pour boiling water over the herbs, cover and allow to steep for 10 minutes or more. Usual doseage is about 1 ounce of herb per pint of water.

      Most of these herbs are bitter and you may want to add a pinch of stevia to sweeten but remember that bitter is good for you. When the bitter principal hits your taste buds it stimulates the release of bile and other digestive juices and this is important for good digestion. Bitters don’t work if you don’t taste them.

      http://www.wildroots.com/galactagogues.html (here is the link for the above recipe)

  3. Jule says:

    Ooops! I hope they come back up in production for you soon!

Leave a Reply

