How Much is a Home Worth?

This past week has been a little stressful. The local volunteer fire department asked to buy our land, and the representative made it sound like if we didn’t take tax value they are going to force us to move through emanate domain laws for even less. My husband spoke to an attorney about it and we found out we can at least fight for a fair price, but what is fair when you are losing your home?! We looked around at all we had done to make this land and house into a place where we could relax and live a good, fulfilling life. A place where we could raise our children in peace. And then it is all threatened, supposedly in the “best interest of the community”. Are we not part of that community?

Now, we are not opposed to moving. We would like to get another place of comparable value and resources without having to incur debt just because someone wants the home we are content in, though. We still don’t know whats going to happen, but we feel in limbo here. I have so many things I want to do, but anything I do may be for naught and I hate to expend the time and energy into doing major undertakings if I’m going to lose it all in a few months. It’s not a comfortable place to be in. Plus our children feel like they don’t know whats happening, and it is very difficult for them. They asked me last week if they will have a house to go to if we have to leave this one, and where it would be. It’s not pleasant to have to explain these things to your children.

Right now we are resting in our faith that God will provide. We don’t know His plans for us, to stay or go, but we do know that it will work out despite being uncomfortable right now. I am not doing much posting because of all the things going on, but I hope to do more soon, maybe of the growing garden and expanding beds 🙂  I hope you are all having a good entry into spring, and will talk with ya later!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How Much is a Home Worth?

  1. Amelia says:

    Having our house on the market to sell placed us in that limbo, but for entirely different reasons and certainly less stress. But when it came to whether to plant or improve or whatever, I finally decided … live where I live until I don’t live there anymore. It’s worked for me.

  2. LindaG says:

    I absolutely hate that the government is allowed to take someone’s property because it is better for the ‘public’.
    *hugs*
    I hope God gives you a vision. God bless. ♥

  3. laura little says:

    Maybe they could work out a Land Swap. If they swapped you the equivalent of what you have in a nearby location? It’s certainly harder when you have children with special needs for any kind of change, much less what is a seemingly forced one. My thoughts are with you all.

  4. Jamie says:

    I just found your site, through youtube of all places when I was looking for a milking tutorial on goats. Thank you for that by the way! We have a lot of similarities. Goats, chickens, homeschooling.

    I’m saddened to hear this about your home and land. My thoughts are with your family. I’m now following you so I can get the updates and hope that your journey ends happy.

  5. Patty says:

    I’ll be praying for you and the family. I feel sure that God has a good plan for you in this. Hugs!

  6. Thank you all! We are still waiting to see how things go, but it will work out. Jamie, it’s good to meet you! I will update after we know something more. For now we keep researching properties to see whats around, but very little really is. I would be very content to not relocate!

  7. Jessi says:

    Eminate domain they HAVE to give you fair market value do not let them force you out I used to be a realtor

Leave a Reply

