Eating Chicken

Last night I cooked the roosters we butchered, oh, 5 days ago. That doesn’t sound so hard, but in reality I have never roasted my own chickens. I always had older birds that I boiled, or at least cut up for frying. This time I wanted roast chicken, but it was a bit of an adventure. It took me 30 minutes to figure out how to get those long legs, stuck straight out from the bird, to bend enough to tie to the tail. And just HOW do you tie them to a tail?! Do you put a hole in it? What if it rips off?! I ended up tyeing a string around the base of the tail and wrestling the legs down one at a time and tyeing them together. See?

You can see they were pretty large. I didn’t weigh them, but they were larger than the chickens I get in the store, and only 5 months old at butchering. However, these are the birds our kids plucked, and despite my best efforts there were still a few pin feathers and hairs after baking.Ā  Everyone kept picking out little hairs off the skin when I served the birds, but when asked if they hated dinner they said it was good. Jameson said “It isn’t as good as usual, but it’s better than nothing”Ā  šŸ™‚

My husband, who likes to eat the bones, was astonished that he couldn’t eat these ones. He practically eats everything on store-bought chickens, but the bones and ligaments were so strong on these birds he couldn’t crunch them! Makes you wonder….

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Chickens, Family, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Eating Chicken

  1. James usually eats the BONES?? I’ve always heard that they’re dangerous for DOGS to eat, because they splinter! Wouldn’t it also be dangerous for humans to eat??

    • Not really, and they really are not dangerous for dogs either if cooked properly. We feed our dog chicken bones after making stock and she thrives on them, but they are cooked very soft. These bones take a little more work. And as for James eating them, the dentist told him he wouldn’t recommend most people do so, but James’ teeth are very strong. It is quite possible the fact that he DOES eat them, and has all his life, has helped this be the case. I know true bone broth and stocks are extremely healthful, and most native peoples never wasted the gristle, fat, marrow, and softer parts of bones. Jameson eats them too, something he couldn’t do back before we got goats and started living off mostly what we grow/raise. The dentist has been amazed at the changes in our kids teeth, from looking like fractured glass and full of decay to strong, white teeth with absolutely no decay. He says our kids brush better than most kids, yet they boys really only brush once or twice a week. A lot of our results have to do with diet, the elimination of refined sugar and processed foods. If we start eating bad they start having problems again within 2-3 months.

      • That’s amazing!

        We’ve slowly been making changes to our diet also, as we’ve learned of various issues with foods, and it looks like sugar’s our next item to be changed. We use local honey as often as possible, but have also been using some refined sugar for some things. We’ve been studying it lately, and are poised for a change to solely raw sugar and local honey.

        We have been amazed at what we’ve learned about the history of flour, as well, and have begun milling our own wheat to make our bread ~ it’s delicious, and I believe one reason I’ve had more energy for the past month!

        We’re looking forward to seeing what health improvements we’ll observe as we continue to “move up” in the food issue.

        • I think you will be pleased cutting out refined sugar. It’s amazing how much food from the store contains it though. It’s pretty easy if you can do all your cooking at home and only buy basic ingredients.

  2. Amie Sexton says:

    We had one that barely fit in the freezer thanks to those straight out legs and then we figured out that if we strung them by only one leg while plucking, the joints stayed loose and no more stiff-leggedness. =)

  3. Denise says:

    How was the texture, Jordana? When I’ve butchered my roos and roasted them, the meat was really tough and stringy. Even cooked in a crock pot! So I just use them for making stock and chop the meat for soups.

    • It wasn’t the greatest. The breast meat was tender, but the legs very tough. I am going to cut them up and fry them next time, or boil. I have a roaster I might try using on them, but am not sure I want to try that.

      • Denise says:

        Frying makes meat more tender? I figured using the slow cooker was the best way to deal with a tough chicken, but it didn’t work. Does boiling them work?

        • Not really, but you stand less chance of overcooking parts because they cook faster all cut up and more evenly. Boiling leads to dry meat in my opinion, but it’s good for pot pies and casseroles.

  4. Sarah Grove says:

    (((Jordana,))) Your posts never fail to amuse and enlighten me! You make the most of your talents and with far less homesteading land to work with than most folks I know. Three cheers to you and your family! Folks could surely learn a lot from you…keep it up! I sure enjoy reading about your homesteading adventures! Ps…have you ever thought about writing a book???? :o)

    • Thank you for the encouragement, Sarah! I am so glad you enjoy reading of our exploits, lol! And, yes, I have thought to write a book. I even have one started, but I like blogging better šŸ™‚

  5. LindaG says:

    I certainly hope I learn something from reading your blog. I agree, you are an inspiration. ♥
    I think your chickens look really good.
    Glad to know I’m not the only one who eats some of the bones. ;o)

    I do a lot of reading since I don’t know anything, and I don’t know if you’ve read this or not; but I’ve read that if you age the chickens for a couple of days before you cook or freeze them, that it helps tenderize the meat.
    I can’t wait until I can grow my own meat like you do.
    Have a blessed weekend. ♥

Leave a Reply

