Spring Garden is Ready!

Yippeee!!! We picked veggies from the garden today! Peas in purple pods, kohlrabi, and potatoes! Mmmmm…. good stuff! Yesterday we had fresh broccoli for super, and JJ and I each got a couple raspberries already. Of course, there have been weeds growing for us too. Lambs Quarter, which is related to the gourmet quinoa, and wood sorrel have been abundant, as well as chives. I found out from a visiting goat person that we have elephant garlic growing by our fence thanks to someone that lived here in the past, and the rhubarb and strawberries have been doing pretty well too. It feels really good to be starting to pull in the bounty; I was getting very tired of beans and rice and lentils without veggies!

Kohlrabi was a new plant for us this year. It is a brassica, meaning it is related to cabbage and broccoli. I planted it between rows of potatoes and it did excellent. The amazing thing was that it is almost completely left alone by the cabbage worms! They do a little damage to the leaves, but far prefer the cabbage, broccoli, and brussel sprouts. From now on I will be planting kohlrabi instead of cabbage. I waited almost too long to harvest as the plant gets woody if left too long. Both the bulbous stem and the leaves are edible, but I gave tho old, tough leaves to the chickens who fought mightily over them. I bet they are rich in vitamins and calcium! I boiled the bulb/stem for 10 minutes and the smaller one was still crunchy but good. The other larger ones need to be boiled again. I think I will boil them and then mash, butter and salt them for lunch tomorrow. They taste like a sweet, light flavored broccoli, and the crisp texture was heavenly tonight! What a treat!

Here are some things I am considering for my kohlrabi in the next few days. I want to ferment some, and try casseroles, mashes, and anything else I can come up with. We have something like 20 or 30 of the plants ready, so I had better get busy!

http://www.ehow.com/how_7524079_ferment-kohlrabi.html?utm_source=rcp&utm_medium=test22

http://www.affairsofliving.com/imported-20100106014405/2010/7/21/its-alive-cultured-kohlrabi-sauerkraut-and-a-few-tips-and-tr.html

http://www.essortment.com/kohlrabi-grow-it-53537.html

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

