The Garden

I took a few pictures of our spring garden before pulling out the crops as they reached maturity.  I love, love, love the garden! I am keeping track of what we produce this year by weight, and it’s not bad so far, especially since I was not on track yet again this year, and the summer crops are going to be slim because we are planning to be gone for a little while at one point and don’t want to put in anything that would need major tending while we are gone.

So, I know this isn’t what you normally see in a garden, but I liked the morning glory coming up in the hole in our path.

Kohlrabi, my best kind of brassica. It does well planted among potatoes and the cabbage worms don’t destroy it!

Even though they are pests, the cabbage moth is very pretty flitting around the garden.

See the holes in the cabbage? Kohlrabi is so much better. I planted these between the peas, and they have done okay but got too leafy. I think the peas gave them too much nitrogen.

These are an heirloom pea, and I love the purple pods! The flowers were lovely too, and they really liked the bamboo framework I made for them to climb.

This is some of our rhubarb, it’s doing really well and yielding a regular harvest.

And my favorite part of the garden, the bees that pollinate everything!

I think we have decided on the perfect place for a few bee’s of our own at long last where they won’t be a problem for anyone. Working them with my friend has really helped, and hopefully next year we can have a couple of hives, though I think our maximum would be 4.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Garden, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

