Watering System for the Animals

I spent 2 days rigging up an automatic watering system for the goats and chickens. I still need to do one for the rabbits, but already I have taken over half my workload off not having to carry water constantly!

This is the waterer in the buck pen. I tried to keep them at back height, and I put a cement block under so the little ones can reach.

These are the pipes leading to the buck pen. I ran them in the rafters figuring I can add heat tape in winter as long as it doesn’t get so cold the water in the dish freezes.

This is the waterer in the doe pen. Initially they were frightened every time they drank as the water made a hissing sound, like on a toilet filling, every time they drank, but they got used to it after a day and drink more than ever since it’s always fresh.

Amy drinking from the waterer.

Here is an example of the height. This is a 7 month old doeling that happens to be as big as my 1 year olds. The height is just enough to keep them from pooping in it, and babies can’t drown in this.

Extending off the doe waterer I put a chicken waterer. I ran it up high to hang down so the chickens wouldn’t be able to sit over the water and poop in it. This easily keeps the 27 chickens watered, and stays pretty clean.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Chickens, Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Watering System for the Animals

  1. Theresa says:

    Jordana, That is such a great idea, but you are in NC right? So any idea how cold it has to be for the bowl to freeze (since there is movement maybe it takes longer?) or for the heat tape to not be able to keep up? I am in Ohio and we don’t have terrible extemes but definitely not like NC ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks.
    Theresa

    • I’m not sure what temps the bowls will freeze at, but I can remove them and run a guard and add heated buckets in winter and heat tape and insulation around the pipes. I expect it will work this way to 10 or 20-degrees F. In the north (I’m from Michigan) you will really want to bury the lines below frost line and run the plumbing indoors. Maybe make a cement pad under it with a lip so debris isn’t kicked up under them.

      • Theresa says:

        Thanks so much Jordana. But I didn’t quite understand this part: “Maybe make a cement pad under it with a lip so debris isnโ€™t kicked up under them.” Can you explain it a little more?
        Theresa

        • My bedding is shavings or pellets, so it flies when they fuss. If you pour or build a pad under the watering area (maybe even with a drain for messes) less will fly in the water. Anytime I put water in my barn it gets really nasty, so I usually have it outside. By lip, I mean to have it higher than the bedded area so not as much gets tracked up there.

  2. That is awesome I love it!

  3. Shar says:

    Impressive! Good job and a real back-saver!

  4. LindaG says:

    This is fantastic! Are there plans somewhere that show the automatic water thingy? Or is that something you buy and then run the plumbing for?
    You did an amazing job! Congratulations. :o)

Leave a Reply

