Why I Have Been Away…

Well, my friends, summer is keeping me quite busy. First was the garden and adding beds to the front yard (which I have decided to redo), then we went to Michigan for my sisters wedding (which took most of June and I didn’t have much internet access), and now I am working again on the kitchen remodeling. I don’t have much canning to worry about, the garden is horrid since we were gone and it got in the 100’s for weeks. I did bring home 3 baby goats in the last couple of weeks. One is from MI and is  a mini-nubian, and the other 2 are saanens which I want to breed some mini’s out of. I will upload a picture next week.

The house has been where I have decided to put the work in since it has been so hot. I am not crazy about watering, so am planning a winter garden instead of worrying about replanting right now. Fresh is better than canned anyway, right? So, since I wanted to work int the house, the kitchen was a logical place to start. I really need cabinets with good shelves, and I hate the drop-tile ceiling which had started to come apart. I really need to repair the inner back door and the mudroom floor as well, which are by the kitchen, but that ceiling had to go first.

I was pleasantly surprised to see the original ceiling, 2 feet above the drop one, pretty much intact. It is plaster, and I had thought it might be a total loss and I would have to keep the lower ceiling,  but I think I can repair it and put in some nicer lights. I’m taking pictures as I go, but getting them onto here will be slower since I need to get back to work. It’s amazing how much mess you make taking things apart!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I Have Been Away…

  1. laura little says:

    I did wonder where you had gone! Glad all are well. My garden has also been a wash, or a shrivel as the case may be. I think I’ll throw in the towel for this summer and look forward to fall for planting broccoli. Stay cool!

Leave a Reply

