Kitchen Progress

So you all know I have been busy working on the kitchen. If you remember, last year I made a single cupboard as the start of the re-model. I was simply going to add some cupboards, change the bottom cabinets, simple stuff like that. Here is the link to the first work we did. Then this year we thought we might lose our home and I found I had no interest is doing anything to the house or yard and sort of let things go and anything I did do was as cheap as possible, and often a little ugly. We finally feel we will be staying in our home, so I have been back at remodeling the kitchen so that it is more usable and cheerful, more “me” 🙂 I thought I would share some pictures of the changes taking place so you will know why I have been away from here so much.

Now, there was this built-in cupboard I hate, really, really hate. To make my cabinets and a cupboard I like I had to remove this old cabinet. That’s all I was going to do, really! Hubby was gone on a work trip and I was going to do all the messy stuff while he was gone, so as soon as he left I began ripping out the old stuff. However, this is an old house, built in 1923, and they had installed a drop ceiling. Well, I managed to damage the drop ceiling trying to get the cabinet out, and decided to take a peek above to see if I would need to repair the drop ceiling or if I could take it out and go back to the original ceiling.

This is the hole I made after damaging the tiles so I could peek above.

Now, that ceiling was already in poor shape, see?

This is the first cabinet I built and the one I am taking out and an example of the drop ceiling.

Imagine my surprise to look up with a flashlight and discover tall, tall ceiling with almost intact plaster! The drop ceiling wasn’t much over 7-foot, and I wanted a fan but couldn’t put one in or it would hit my tall husbands head. What opportunity, and how simple to go back to the original (I thought it looked simple anyhow!). Well, it turned out to be a little more work than I anticipated….

Here is the florescent light (I hated it!!!!) and the wires running all over and braces I would have to take out.

They had to make holes in the plaster to put these u0p, and I made bigger holes to get them out. Plus the hole in the wall :-/

Gotta love work.

Aaaaand… the cross supports are out, leaving gaping holes everywhere! Yay!!!! Oh, and guess what? I spent 2 days fishing wire behind plaster and trough walls and finding the correct breakers for this bizarre wiring system.

The florescent light is down and I have so much mess to clean up… again.

The last fixture to be removed.

The kis removing hardware from cupboards so I can re-use it.

Patching to be done (JJ going “uh, wow…”)

and patched.

New light over sink

One wall of cabinets unpainted except for the old one

Cabinets painted

Dark and dreary…

Bright and cheery 🙂

Testing the texture painting we decided on.

Jameson testing the power on the new wiring for the fan.

And the fan is installed on our 9 1/2-foot ceiling and the walls part painted ( the wood showing is where another cupboard will go).

Here is the florescent light (I hated it!!!!) and the wires running all over and braces I would have to take out.

And the fan is installed on our 9 1/2-foot ceiling and the walls part painted ( the wood showing is where another cupboard will go).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amazing difference, isn’t it? And more still to come! We decided that the wall at the other end has to come down and we will move the washer so the kitchen will feel more open and lead into the sunny porch, and we will have the added light from all those windows. This means plumbing and more electrical work, which I am starting today. Fun stuff, but now you can see why I have been busy. And…my husband likes it, but has threatened to never leave the house again for fear he will come home to half torn down 😀  Poor guy!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kitchen Progress

  1. LindaG says:

    You are amazing. He is lucky to have you!
    Have a great weekend!

  2. laura little says:

    Totally relate to your strategy of waiting til hubby leaves to do work! And what a fabulous thing to discover: High Ceilings! Your room is now a true reflection of the You that bubbles up through your blog!

  3. Patty says:

    You are an AMAZING woman!! I’m hoping to get more tool savvy soon, as hubby informed me that the buck house and pen we’re making now is his “last, and I mean last!” goat related project he’s going to do. Bummer, because he’s really good at it…

  4. Thank you all for your encouragement and kind words! I am really excited to see it when we are done. The ceiling will have faux-tin ceiling tiles in copper with either black or aged look, and I am going to love the added room moving the laundry room wall will provide. It’s so nice getting something to feel right to you in your home. Patty, it’s easy to learn stuff, just pick one tool and start using it! I will be learning to use a router this week, never used one before! Exciting!!!!

Leave a Reply

