Chocolate Mousse

I found an old cookbook called “Sugar and Spice” by Sally Goldman, published in 1983 with a total, as far as I can tell, of only 60,000 printed.  I loved it because it had recipes that were outdated but more in line with real food, and it has the most wonderful illustrations by Pat Wozniak. It was from an era of entertaining, when a woman still needed to posses the skills to create and serve lovely, tasteful food when guests came over. Sally Goldman lived in Hawaii with her husband and daughters, and she and her friends put this cookbook together from their favorite recipes that guests loved. Many of the recipes were original, and as such deserve a special honor in my opinion.  In a search for a simple, yet yummy, recipe using eggs I came upon a recipe in this cookbook shared by Brenda Lennox of Alberta, Canada called Marilyn’s Chocolate Desert. It looked scrumptious, and so easy, though I didn’t want the cake part. I altered the recipe slightly based on what I had on hand, and it turned out wonderful! In fact, I will be experimenting with the base of it to create new recipes. Here I will share with you a treat so decadent you would think you had gone to heaven, yet so good for you it can be served at breakfast.

Chocolate Mousse

  • 8 oz. semi-sweet baking chocolate (the original called for 12 oz. bag of chocolate chips)
  • 8 eggs
  • 2 cups heavy whipping cream
  • Garnishments of choice: Slivered almonds, shaved chocolate, crushed pecans, lemon zest, coconut would all be quite good

Melt the chocolate in a pan over boiling water or low heat, stirring constantly. Beat eggs in a separate bowl, then add the melted chocolate and mix well. In another bowl, beat whipping cream until stiff peaks form, then gently fold into the chocolate-egg mixture. Pour into a 2-quart dish and chill until set before serving.

To serve: Spoon mousse into glass parfait dishes. Garnish each with toppings of choice. In my photos I sprinkled slivered almonds and shaved chocolate on top and added a few leaves of chocolate mint for color and digestion (I eat the mint leaves, they are yummy!). Serves 8-12 people.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Gluten-free and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

