Randomness

I sure have been getting slack on writing over the summer. Here school is about to start and I have only put up a handful of posts over the last 4-6 months.  It’s not that nothing is happening, it’s that there is too much! That and my laptop broke so I have to sit in one spot at an uncomfortable keyboard to do any writing. I couldn’t resist typing some tonight, though. Just a mood I am in. It’s been a long week in which my husband has been is police dive school and our hours are way off for getting up and going to bed. I have been blessed with produce to preserve for winter in the form of okra, and our fig trees are going wild and apples are ready, and pears, and  the gopher is dead, and the winter garden has to get planted, and… and…

So, right now I don’t have a whole lot to talk about specifically, I just feel like being in touch with friends is a good thing. I am happy the gopher is gone (thanks to a cat, who is also after the resident rat living in the compost pile) but a baby gopher was out looking for food and I tried to save it because I am a softie. It died, which is probably good, but still a little sad after all the work we did trying to keep it alive.
I found a really neat video on YouTube about canning okra without the pressure canner and without pickling per-se. It made the best okra I have ever had, and I plan to use the jars in soups liquid and all. Here is the video if you want to see it. It’s an older couple, doing things the way it used to be done before the USDA and FDA became our guide and we became afraid of deviating and decided all food had to be completely dead to keep us safe.

I also found an intriguing recipe for fig jam/preserves and altered it based on my preferences. It uses orange liqueur, and it was amazing how much difference it made in the final product! I’m going to try and post that later today or early tomorrow. I am going to visit the ABC store and see what other ones might come in handy for canning fruit. The most amazing thing is that the recipe uses so little sugar and tastes so very good! It’s like a touch of sun-kissed heaven on your lips, sigh….

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Garden, Homesteading, Saving Money on the Homestead, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Randomness

  1. laura little says:

    “It’s an older couple, doing things the way it used to be done before the USDA and FDA became our guide and we became afraid of deviating and decided all food had to be completely dead to keep us safe.” Amen and Amen. I have missed you but I know you’ve been working hard and taking care of your family, so I forgive you. ;o)

    • I appreciate that forgiveness, my friend! I have missed you too! I am trying hard to keep butt time to a minimum and hoofing it time to a maximum, lol! Gotta keep these muscles shaped in a more attractive form than the chair at the computer 😉 However, winter is coming, and supposedly we have more down time then… right?

Leave a Reply

