A Doll for Aria

There is a very special little girl turning 3 this week and I wanted to do something nice for her but couldn’t go out and buy something. Today it’s hard to compete with toys in the store, but I think this little girl won’t mind (sorry for another toy Abby!). Anyway, I made her a doll and a matching apron for her and her doll. It’s been almost 20 years since I last made a doll; I have forgotten a LOT about making them! I still think she is sweet, though, and hopefully little Aria will like her.

This is the doll.

Doll and apron.

Closer look. The dress was supposed to be removable, but like I said, I am relearning doll making 😦

Since this is for a 3-year old I stitched the face on instead of using buttons and such. I also sewed her hair on, then braided and tied it off really tight using some of the same strands so the end tie cannot be slipped off and the hair used to choke or eat.

So, that’s Aria’s doll, the only one like it in the world for a unique angel.

 

 

 

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Doll for Aria

  1. laura little says:

    Love it! I made a doll for my daughter when she was small. We christened her “Onion-head” because of the way her head was made: A circle stuffed with fluff and then tied at the top with what became the braids. I am happy to say she still has that doll at the ripe old age of 26!

  2. Suzy says:

    Such a sweet gift! I especially like that you made Aria a matching apron.I’m sure the doll will be treasured for years to come!

Leave a Reply

