Butcher Block Counter and Eggs

Well, here goes; I need a counter top for the new cabinet beside our stove. I researched concrete counter tops and they seem really nice, but I didn’t have the stuff needed and it will be a big outlay of money, so I decided to start with stuff I tore out of the house and other things I had on hand. Thus, the butcher-block counter top was begun!

Cabinet carcass

Another view, this shows the wood the counter will attach to.

I started off with 2×4’s I ripped out when I took the laundry room wall down. I tried to pick ones that had the fewest nail holes and that were fairly smooth and still fit the lengths I needed. Then I used Liquid Nails® and pipe clamps to put them together. I really wished I had a joiner, and even looked to see if the guy across the street who builds cabinets was around and would let me use one, but no dice. After gluing it all together I wiped off excess glue. At this point there were very uneven edges, and middle boards wanted to rise a bit in a slight arc. I pounded them down and decreased the clamp pressure a tad bit and it was better. After an hour of drying I brought out the wood plane and started leveling the surface. This is done by feel. Close your eyes and run your hand over the wood; you will feel the dips and rises, even though you can’t see them. I planed each area until it was fairly smooth and level, though the knots are not cutting down and will take some sanding to get right.

Okay, so this struck me as artistic 🙂

Couldn’t resist…

This morning I unclamped the counter top and set it on the cabinet to see how it looked; I like it!

I raised the height about one inch to match the top of the stove. We like the taller height, especially my tall husband!

Another view.

I still have work to do and holes to fill, but you can see how pretty it’s going to be!

And this is where the eggs come in; breakfast on the farm beside the lovely counter-top 🙂

Mmmmmmm….

 

 

 

 

 

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homesteading, Saving Money on the Homestead and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Butcher Block Counter and Eggs

  1. laura little says:

    Struck me as artistic, too. lol! Beautiful job. Show me how you do the cabinet front please! When we did ours my hubby did his best but he’s not a cabinet maker. I would like to redo them, but would love to see someone’s guideline.

  2. Great job Jordana – it has never occurred to me that I could build my own butcher block! You never cease to amaze me!

  3. LindaG says:

    It’s wonderful. Congratulations!

  4. joel says:

    did you use selleys liquid nails for this project?i’m planning to make my own but i lack resources and im planning to use liquid nail instead of wood glue,coz I don’t have titebond here.but hardwood is abundant here coz im from the philippines. I’ll use 2X4 hardwood do you think its ok to use liquid nail?thanks.

Leave a Reply

