Big Changes Ahead!

I know, I know, I did it again! I said I would try to be on here on a more regular basis, but I guess sporadic is my regular *sheepish look here*. However, I had good reason for being absent; really! Do you remember the issues we were having with the fire department wanting our property this spring? Well, they came back to us with another offer about 10 days ago, maybe two weeks now. Along with their offer they “mentioned” they would be putting in a 2-lane road next to our house and we may have trouble getting to our driveway. Yeah.

Okay, so here is what they proposed; an even trade of our place for an old house half the size of ours on 1.8 acres of land, and it was bottle-necked in a bunch of fields. It was loaded with ragged barns, and no place for a garden of livestock pens. We said no way, heck, it was worth maybe $30,000? However, there was the issue of the road. Life around here was getting decidedly unpleasant, so we took a look at what was available in the housing market right now. We found a place that we had looked at in the spring and the price had dropped considerably. The fire department agreed to pay us an amount that would allow us to buy it and simply carry our current mortgage amount. In return we will get a smaller house, but it is in excellent condition, 2.5 acres with a fenced pasture, a large second building that has heat and A/C for hobbies, and a pool. All we need to do is build a goat barn to hold hay, milk parlor, and critters. It’s all happening very quickly, and we are in a state of shock, but we feel getting out of our current situation and no longer having to deal with the fire department will be best for our family. So, over the next 2 months I will be very, very busy, but I will share as often as I can. I do miss you guys, and chatting about or different farms! Gosh, I will be going from .49 acres to 2.5!!!! Oh, BOY!!  🙂

This is the extra building and beyond it the pasture. The open space will have raised garden beds, done in stone (hopefully).

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Big Changes Ahead!

  1. laura little says:

    Oh, I’m so happy things worked out! I was in full battle gear for you and so hopeful that they would leave you alone, but this is even better! I totally understand if it gets difficult to post; Just throw us a bone every now and then and we’ll be happy.

  2. LindaG says:

    Whenever someone doesn’t update their blog, I always assume they are busy with real life. I am so glad to hear that it is a true blessing this time!
    Congratulations and good luck with your move. I hope it goes smoothly! ♥

  3. Danielle B. says:

    Thank you for letting us know! We are all so busy that we totally understand 🙂 I’m glad that the News is Good!

  4. Thank you, Laura, Linda, and Danielle!

Leave a Reply

