“Heidi”, a Treasure From My Mother

When I was packing and talking to my parents I came across a couple of books I treasure. One was a “Holly Hobby” book my Dad gave me (I will share that one later, I packed it too quickly) and the other was a copy of “Heidi” by The Goldsmith Publishing Co. of Cleveland, OH. It had been given to my Mother by her Grandmother, and she gave it to me when I grew old enough she felt I would treasure it. It is falling apart now, but as we talked it became a treasure hunt to find the origins of this book. My Dad and I both got on our computers, hundreds of miles apart, to search. Here is the cover, a red fabric and the title was at one time gold from what I can tell.

While trying to find a publishing date, the front of the book fell apart where someone a long time ago had glued the front pages to the cover to hide an inscription;

“Dec. 25, ’26 To Elsie, from Carol”

We never did find another copy of this particular book, and it’s falling apart from age, but it was always a favorite of my Mom’s, as well as me. I loved it because it was part of her and given by my Great-grandmother who raised my Mom for many years during hard times. I loved the feel of the pages, and the old smell of the book. I also loved the illustrations! Here they are, for your enjoyment. Some were colored with crayon and pencil, though my Mom swears it wasn’t her (she has always been very careful of anything that she has), so maybe this “Elsie” did it. My Mom thinks she may have been Grandpa’s relation, so the book may have come down in family all the way, and I intend to do some looking to find out. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy the illustrations 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Heidi”, a Treasure From My Mother

  1. laura little says:

    I love old books! The hands that they have gone through on their journey… I also was astonished to recall, as I looked at the illustrations, that I think I did the same ‘coloring’ of illustrations in a similar book. I suppose I saw that some of the pictures had full color so I was just ‘completing’ the task. My grandmother’s name was Elsie, so that also struck a chord. Wouldn’t that be delicious if she were the same Elsie?

  2. Robin says:

    What a lovely book! The pictures strike a chord of familiarity with me, but I am not sure if it is the pics, or the much loved story!

  3. Jule says:

    Jordi, I really enjoyed your post of this book. It was like a walk down memory lane as Daddy and I read it and looked at the pics. So glad you posted this! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

