Bittersweet Days

Fall kidding is done. It was a bittersweet time. We had 10 baby goats born, 6 girls and 4 boys. We lost one little girl to an accident; we think he mom fell/stepped/layed on her. I tried for over 2 hours to save her, but nothing could. I eventually realized her neck had been broken. It was so hard for me, and for the children who watched me try to save her.

Just prior to finding the injured doeling, I had just finished helping another doe deliver quads, 2 bucks and 2 does. It had been a long labor with absolutely no progress. The first baby was trying to come out breech with one leg from each of his sisters trying to come out with him. I had to go in and push them back a little, and I found the little guys legs and pulled him out. Once he was out the others came out lickity-split and much larger. The runt was placed that night with a family that has the time to care for him and he is doing very well. He was too little to compete with his larger siblings for milk, and he had been getting weak, so now there is a happy family that had wanted goats for quite a while, and a happy, dotted on little goat.

All the babies were born within 24 hours, which is the easiest period I have had; only one night of no sleep! And just in time to have them ready for their new homes before we move. Closing is fast approaching on the new house. We get the keys on Halloween, and will start moving a few things. The first real challenge will be getting shelters built for the goats and chickens. We have to be moved in by Thanksgiving, so it’s going to be a lot of work. There is no way we will have the barn by then since we have to get permits and such, and then of course place an order and wait a month or more for it to come in. We will, however, have lots of milk again, so we are pretty excited about that! I am also making a quilt in honor of the move, and will share more of that with you in another post later this week. For now I will leave you with a picture of one of our new little girls 🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bittersweet Days

  1. Trish says:

    Wow 10!! You will be busy. Do you disbud? I too live in North Carolina and have ND goats. I haven’t posted in a while http://www.happyhollowfarm.com/ Would love to find fellow goat raisers to communicate with to discuss goat “stuff”. Good luck on your move.

    • Oops, sorry not to have responded sooner! Moving is making me really get behind right now.

      We had to disbud every single baby goat. Polled is nice, but I don’t have any right now. I’m going to check out your website; are you in eastern NC? I guess I will know in a minute, haha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

