A Sad Day

Yesterday was sad on our farm. Nothing went right all day it seemed, except for the love we have as a family and the caring of friends. Yesterday I went out to milk and found one of our 4-week old nigerian babies on the ground and unable to get up. Her spine was fractured, and nothing could save her. Our children were terribly upset, and our oldest showed wisdom in asking me to put her out of her misery, but I couldn’t as she was aware, so I placed my hands on her and asked the Lord to take her. She took one last breath and was gone. After hours of trying to save her, talking to vets that wouldn’t see her until I finally found one that would help, seeing her suffer but continue to fight for life, it was just sad. We buried her where our permanent greenhouse will be built, and we will call it “Meow’s House” for that was her name.

Farming is so wonderful most of the time; hard work to be sure, but still wonderful. However, the sad times are still there. Still, the living go on. It is a powerful lesson to our children, who have not yet lost a loved one in our human realm. Pets and animals dying prepares them and helps them understand the cycle of life and that life is precious. I’m still crying today, and honestly have a hard time facing anything, but I will. The children are outside playing already (the sun only just came up) and I can hear them laughing. I have morning chores to do, soap to unmold and cut, lotion bars to try out, and many other things to do. Later this week we have chicks arriving that I need to prepare for, and I want to check out a goat for sale. So, hopefully I will have a better letter to write in a day or two.

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Sad Day

  1. So sorry for your lousy day yesterday. It’s definitely a life of ups and downs.

  2. Mary Lou Bartoli says:

    So sorry for the heartache that you went through–it is never easy–i grew up on a farm where we had everything—i remember my dad telling me, you can’t be farmer if you get attached to the animals—well here i am at the age of 65 and i guess i am still not a “farmer”–i get attached to everything!!!!Hope you have a blessed day today

  3. LindaG says:

    Sorry to hear this. *hugs* ♥

  4. Thanks guys. I went and got another goat 😉 Really, I had looked at the goat and decided to get it before we lost Meow, but it was soothing to bring her home.

  5. Jule Sadger says:

    Sorry about Meow Jordi! I know how much you love your babies! Mom

  6. F. G. says:

    Jordana….. I am so very sorry about your baby. I’m sure that in a day or two you will have another barn or two built and half the town renovated. Your story does, however, remind me of a baby turkey poult I had years back. He was about two weeks old and very sick. No one could see him and I did everything the turkey forum’s members told me. Finally, I picked him up and cradled him in my hands and asked God to please take him. He did. I cried with sadness and gratefulness. Our Heavenly Father is beyond amazing.

Leave a Reply

