Morning Rain

Ahhh, the coolness of a rainy morning! The birds don’t seem to mind as our farm wakes up. There is not much of a breeze this morning and I am missing the sound of the wind chimes on the back deck. I am trying to plan another full day of work, but it is subject to change even if I plan what with baby goats due and guests nearly every day this week. Spring in our new home is full of surprises, most of them are good. Of course, there are always those little quirks or problems in a new home you have to learn, like the GCFI outlet that doesn’t stay on with the chest freezer, the pool plumbing not holding up to pressure, the light in the bedroom fan never working if you turn the fan on. Gotta love those things, hahaha!

The good things outweigh all that. To see the goats in the big, green pasture running and playing and grazing. To see flowers bloom that you didn’t even know were on the property. To hear the birds, including the numerous owls at night, talking back and forth. A hawk swooping on a mouse, or the wood ducks nesting in the tree in the swamp out back. Herons taking off, turkeys looking for food. Children running and playing in safety and being allowed creative freedom to build forts and paths and bridges. My husband drumming without worry that it will bother someone. It’s a wonderful place to be.

Here are some pictures of some of the beauty showing up with the warm weather and rain. Pictures can’t capture the depth of beauty, but they can give you a taste of it.

The pool area

The pool area

Dogwood blossoms

Dogwood blossoms

Carolina Jasmine on the arbor leading from one part of the yard to the mid-section.

Carolina Jasmine on the arbor leading from one part of the yard to the mid-section.

One of the red maples, I love them! This is by the pool.

One of the red maples, I love them! This is by the pool.

Red Maple

Red Maple

Crab apple... I think.

Crab apple… I think.

Naturalized beauty around the kids play area.

Naturalized beauty around the kids play area.

Butterflys....

Butterfly….

A white iris, the first to bloom of the iris bed. I brought purple ones.

A white iris, the first to bloom of the iris bed. I brought purple ones.

My friend told me I should get a master gardener to come help me identify all the plants, this place is very heavily landscaped!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Morning Rain

  1. Jule Sadger says:

    Beautiful! Love all the colors!

Leave a Reply

