Garden is Growing!

Our first plantings this year were a dismal failure in many respects. An unpredictable spring with high temps followed by major frost made things I have always planted in February to be lost this year. Almost all of the heirloom seed I planted was lost since like most I thought if it was protected from wind it would be fine. It was not. I needed a heater inside the greenhouse, or to have carried the trays inside. That was a major loss. The peas are only now starting to really grow, and they are getting so hot they want to die back at a lovely 8 inches. We lost all the kale, collards, beets, turnips and rutabaga.  However, amid all this loss, we still have some things doing well. Potatoes are coming up, as are the peanuts. The fruit plants are doing very well. So, not all is lost, and we began again with a couple of the dead beds.

I picked up heirloom plants from a friend and urban homesteader in Wake Forrest, Lil’ Farm in the Hood. I love his plants, they are healthy and a fair price, he can even tell you the history of each seed/plant.

Plants ready to plant!

Plants ready to plant!

These are the beds I planted for early spring. Potatoes on the far left, brassicas and onions in the other bed.

These are the beds I planted for early spring. Potatoes on the far left, brassicas and onions in the other bed.

Newly planted tomatoes, peppers, flowers, and basil.

Newly planted tomatoes, peppers, flowers, and basil.

The new beds contain tomatoes, peppers (hot and spicy ones right now, sweet will be in another spot), dill, parsley, cilantro, basils, marigolds, and a red flower that is pretty but not edible. Have you guessed I like pretty things? Oh, and the tomatoes are separated from peppers by the dill and cilantro/parsley plants, they will be a lovely mix of colors and textures in a short while!

The garden looks pretty now! Imagine what it will look like in a month or two!

The garden looks pretty now! Imagine what it will look like in a month or two!

Of course, I don’t stop with the vegetables, and my beds are not as neatly organized as some, but I do love the effect!

The water spigot is a great place for chocolate mint and columbine :-)

The water spigot is a great place for chocolate mint and columbine 🙂

I really love columbine!

I really love columbine!

I couldn't resist adding this one too!

I couldn’t resist adding this one too!

 

 

 

 

 

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Garden, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Garden is Growing!

  1. Your new place is so beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

