Goat Wrestling

Goat wrestling, the newest sport and not for the faint of heart! How do you goat wrestle? You simply go out 2 hours late to feed and milk your goats! Open the gate to the milk parlor and all your orderly does will forget about their training and try to lunge past, carrying you (and the gate if it is not securely attached) into the feed area, knocking down garbage cans full of feed, bouncing off walls, pushing each other off milk stands in an effort to be the first to receive food, and so on.

Copy of nigerian meadows drawing goat escape

 

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Goats, Homesteading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Goat Wrestling

  1. Lori says:

    I’ve only been working with goats for a couple of years and have recently acquired four of my own. I learned very early on that it is not ever a good idea to change up the goat’s routine, they don’t seem to care much for change 😉

    • Most certainly not, haha! They are the most resistant creatures to change as I have ever seen, even something as simple as moving the milk stand 2 inches or a new shadow on the floor 🙂 Congratulations on your small herd!

  2. lol – if you really only called them dumb-butt, I’m impressed! 😉 Those stinkers! Be glad most of them are nigies – try getting barreled out of the way by several does weighing 150-180 pounds each! Aye chihuahua! They’ve literally knocked me over and trampled me before. Not pretty.

    • Haha! I know, I was thinking the same thing. At one point I was holding the gate with one hand and the post with the other, the nubian was going over me, I was sitting on the saanen’s head, I had nigerians in my lap, going under and over me and pressing against my face 🙂 I resorted to the water bottle but even that was hard to do when the whole group was on top of you 🙂 Boy, oh boy, goats are a never-ending adventure!

  3. Mary Lou Bartoli says:

    Amen to that –then they have to go to every place you placed feed just incase something might be different in another trough—gotta love’m

Leave a Reply

