The “Quack Shack”

It sure has been a busy spring! Life on the new farm is moving along and summer is right around the corner. My dreams of a lovely garden are dying with my plants who have not enjoyed the mulch as it was too “hot”, nor do they like chlorinated county water. Grass and flowers seem okay with it, but not my veggie plants. I want to drill a shallow well for watering, but it may be fall before I get to that. There are simply way too many projects!

One of the latest projects was working on the duck house as I wanted to get more ducks this fall. I have quite a bit done, but I like it so much I may turn it into a retreat! The “Quack Shack” as I have named it is a 4’x10′ building with half walls and a roof extension for the bucks so I can mount hay racks and mineral feeders. This is excellent if I would just get out there and finish it! Today I think I will slap some paint or stain on it. What do you think? Should I go natural with a stain, or should I paint it white with green trim? Or green with white trim? What would you do?

IMG_1221 IMG_1219 IMG_1220

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homesteading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The “Quack Shack”

  1. LindaG says:

    If it’s exterior lumber, just let it weather for now. I like ‘aged’ wood and you can do other things.
    I guess try to collect as much rainwater as you can, until you can get your well dug.
    So glad to hear things are working out. God bless!

Leave a Reply

