Making Honey-rubbed Montasio

I am making my first cheese on the new press! I am using the book “Artisan Cheese making at Home” by Mary Karlin.  The recipe I am making this time is the Honey-rubbed Montasio, and it sounds delightful! Nutty, smooth, and rubbed in honey, mmmmm! And since I had my new handy, dandy press to try out, I took some pictures. I will have to ad and addendum after the cheese is out and aged 🙂

Anyway, here are the pictures. You have to get the book to have the recipe (sorry, copy-wright and all that) but this might entice you to buy it. It really is a good book. I am using all raw goats milk, so it will be a bit different, but hopefully very good. I do love having such wonderful dairy goats!

Almost ready to press! Curds are draining.

Almost ready to press! Curds are draining.

Yummy curds!

Yummy curds!

Himalayan Sea Salt added.

Himalayan Sea Salt added.

Rolled into a ball and pressed flat enough to press. Press is over the sink. The fact that it is flexible is making the whey drain into the sink instead of all over, so I guess that is good after all!

Rolled into a ball and pressed flat enough to press. Press is over the sink. The fact that it is flexible is making the whey drain into the sink instead of all over, so I guess that is good after all!

See the whey draining?

See the whey draining?

I used a pot with water as my weight. I have a digital scale and added water until it equaled 8 lbs.

I used a pot with water as my weight. I have a digital scale and added water until it equaled 8 lbs.

Later I will update with stages of the cheese, but it has to sit and drain for 8 hours, so I don’t have them now.

 

 

 

 

 

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Gluten-free, Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Making Honey-rubbed Montasio

  1. Pingback: Making a Cheese Press | Nigerianmeadows's Farm Diary

  2. Tera says:

    How did this turn out? I haven’t made cheese yet, but this one sounds delish!

    • So far it’s going well. I am just about done drying it. In about 2 months it will be ready to try, so middle of October 2013 will be test time. I did pull out my first aged block of herbed farmhouse cheddar and it is wonderful! I left it 3 months, and boy have the flavors melded together! And it grates, which at 1 month and 2 months it was more dry and crumbly and lacked the fullness. It has a distinct goaty/earthy flavor to it, which I expect the montasio to as well since I use all raw goats milk.

  3. Rose says:

    Have you gotten to try your Montasio yet? I’m considering making it now and curious how it all went for you. My only hold back is I don’t have Thermo C but have C201 (thermo direct set) from Cheesemaking.com. Did you use Thermo C? I think I might go ahead and try the C201 as it has the two cultures Thermo C has. Curious to see how your cheese has turned out!

    • We did eat it! I was really bummed because the humidity of my cave wouldn’t stay correct and it was molding, so I pulled it out and put it in the fridge until I could decide what to do. I finally decided to just try it, and it was amazing! It wasn’t even fully aged. It’s semi-soft, and the rind is great eating. I can’t quite describe it, but everyone who tried it loved it, kids and adults both. I did not take pictures because I had been so bummed about the mold, but I am going to make it again now that it is getting cooler and I might be able to keep the humidity balanced better in the cave. And yes, I used the culture in the recipe, Thermo C.

      • Rose says:

        Oh, it sounds lovely! I’m so glad it came out for you even with the mold challenge. I think I’ll give it a go now with the C201.. Due to a life change and huge move we no longer have our own dairy goats but this week I was taking care of a friends goat so have a gallon that needs to become cheese now. I’ve been cheese making with raw cow milk so it’s fun to play with goat milk again and thought this cheese just sounded lovely. Thanks so much for the update!

  4. Rose says:

    And I love your press! I have a traditional one but think I want one like yours as well. Looks like something the husband could make.

Leave a Reply

