Our Second Fall

Autumn is in full swing on the new farm. We have officially been here one year, which amazes us! How the time has flown with all the work we had to do. We are still working hard to make things the way we want and to make the land as productive as possible. I look around and am amazed at how much we have accomplished, and it is becoming easier to see where we need to go next with our work. Today we nearly completed the “framework” on the permanent garden area. Last year the plan for this space was much different than what we are wanting to do now, though some parts are still similar. Let me show you.

This was last fall’s plan, put into action over the spring.

My garden plan from my inner vision...

My garden plan from my inner vision…

It was a great plan… except that we seem to have a LOT of termites, and they really enjoyed the mulch and wooden raised bed frames, in addition to eating the roots of all the garden plants. In addition to the termites, it quickly became obvious that I had not prepared the ground the same way as I did at our old place (removing all the sod and grass from the area) and the crab grass invaded to the point that I simply gave up. We got almost nothing for all our hard work this past year, and are totally relying on the super-markets for food this winter. It was really disappointing, but during this year we were able to see what the land and climate was like here.

We bought some pigs over the summer and put them in the garden area. The pigs were great, and really worked all the mulch into the soil and broke up the grass. We added some chickens to the coop, and found they really needed more room, so we started setting the fencing in place around the garden in such a way as to keep the chickens in and deer out. We moved the pigs to part of the pasture with the intention of starting a rotational grazing system that will run goats, pigs, chickens and then a garden area, and that garden will be tilled rows and beds, not raised anything. The first garden spot is perfect for fruit and a pond, and if all goes right I want to add a greenhouse to the area. Here is the new plan, though still a work in progress…
Garden Planting Guide 3I also worked up a plan for the big vegetable garden for the year, mapping out planting and harvesting dates for an almost year-round garden. If you live in a similar climate you may be able to use it as well, so I am adding it to this post (eastern NC is where we live).

2014 Planting Guide Eastern NC

2014 Planting Guide Eastern NC

Garden Planting Guide 2When I get the gates up to the fruit garden I will share some pictures. Hopefully this next year will be better than this last!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Garden, Homesteading, Saving Money on the Homestead and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

