It Is February!

Antique Snowdrops

It is finally February my friends! Do you know what that means?! It means spring is right around the corner! After February comes March, and in March…. well, in March everything takes off šŸ˜€ I am so excited to be here and living a good life, to be welcoming another spring after a refreshing and cold winter. Yes, even in the south it got cold this year! We had a second January snow storm that dumped half a foot of snow that only finished melting today. January was a month of hauling buckets of warm water to the livestock and trying to keep my feet off cold floors designed for the warmer southern summer more than near zero temps. I am very thankful not to have gotten the Alaskan cold that many in the northern states were blessed with this winter (thanks, Alaska! *grin*).

Today is February 2nd. It got up to about 60-degrees F today, and rained most of the morning. That didn’t bother me too much, I took things slow and enjoyed a pot of coffee and a couple of cookies. Then I went out to see the yelling goats. The chickens and pigs were really enjoying the soft ground, and I love the way the back end of the pasture is all turned up and brown from the rooting of the pigs. It is nearly ready for the first round of seed, and then I can move the pigs to another spot to do a little more work. On my counter I have flats full of dirt and seed I started today. I planted some herbs that I desperately want to have growing well here, wormwood, hyssop, echinacea, and yarrow (which we have growing, but I had the seed and so I planted it), and in the fridge is comfrey chilling for 30 days.

In the garage are 12 ducklings, all growing quickly and ready to be moved to another brooder with more ground and less work for me. Another brooder is ready for the chicks that arrive this week, and plans are in the works to get the quack shack finished and ready for its charges. We trimmed some shrubs around the house and laid them out to help hold soil in the swamp and keep water from flooding the poultry area. And we pulled out the scrawny pink lady hawthorns from the bee area and re-set them in the swamp land. We want to put in something edible by the bees that will also help make honey. As soon as it gets dry enough I have to finish tilling the garden areas as well! I feel like I am chafing at the bit since there is so much to do, but the earth is not quite ready to let me. It is good, this readiness to work. It means I had a good rest this winter!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

