Farm Breakfast Casserole

I was up really, really early this morning and wanted to make a yummy breakfast for my kids and hubby, so I took a quick stock of what I had on hand and got started. It turned out rather well and so I decided to share it with you; all ingredients can be homegrown, but we bought our bacon this time around. This will also help me keep track of the recipe for later šŸ˜‰
(Pic coming soon!)

  • butter for greasing pan
  • grated farmhouse cheddar cheese
  • grated mozzarella cheese
  • 4-5 pieces bacon
  • potatoes 4-6 large potatoes washed and diced
  • 1-2 med. spicy green peppers, or regular if you don’t like spice, diced small
  • 6-12 eggs
  • fresh milk from your goat or cow
  • chicken bullion or dried stock
  • sea salt and pepper to taste

First, pre-heat oven to 350-degrees F. Then grease a 9×13″ casserole pan with the butter. Cover bottom lightly with cheddar cheese (farmhouse cheddar doesn’t melt super well, so I like it at the bottom of a dish) and then lay bacon in a single layer on the bottom. Cover with a single or double layer of potatoes, its all about how much you like, and top with green peppers.

Next, crack eggs into a med. bowl, add about 1 TBSP. chicken bullion or dried stock, 1-2 tsp. sea salt and some ground black pepper. Add about 1-2 cups milk or cream, your call, and whisk together. Pour over the potatoes and bacon, then sprinkle about 1 cup mozzarella cheese over the whole dish. Bake for 45-60 minutes, until bottom is crsipy and top has light browning on it.

Serve with a side of milk and a biscuit.

*All measurements are approximate, I sort of toss in what I have until it looks right šŸ™‚

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family, Gluten-free, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Farm Breakfast Casserole

  1. Jule Sadger says:

    Daddy would probably like it!

  2. lindercroft says:

    This sounds very good! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

