The Coffee Experience

IMG_5211-30Coffee is one of those things that is synonymous with farming, I think. The farmer coming in, covered with snow and stomping his boots. The tired farmer enjoying a cup in the evening on the porch with his family. The farmer and spouse sitting at a beat up kitchen table drinking a cup together before the day starts as they listen to the rooster crow and discuss what they have planned. Thats what I think of when I imagine coffee. And I love coffee. I love the way it smells. I love to see the steam rising out of my favorite mug as I sit and work in the morning. I love the fellowship when a friend come over and we share a cup. It makes me think of my Mother and Sister when I drink it as when we are all together we enjoy our morning coffee and visit. I simply enjoy it!

While I enjoy coffee, not all coffee is created equal. Different brands and different beans all create a different taste (and some my body can’t handle due to excess acidity). Whole bean freshly ground far surpasses pre-ground beans. The act of putting your coffee in the grinder in the morning and brewing that fresh pot is almost seductive. Strength of the brew also plays a huge part in your coffee. I love a deep, dark, thick coffee. Some like it weak, more like tea, but not me. A little almond extract, a little fresh cream from our very own goats, and a brew so dark you barely lighten it is my favorite.

The tools you use to make and serve coffee also play a part in how much you enjoy it. The process should not be rushed; it should be savored! For every-day I use a basic, ugly pot that I set up the night before, but it brings me no joy. Neither does the electric grinder. I found a lovely antique grinder that I sent my brother and his wife one year… now THAT is how you grind coffee! I have a vintage percolator from my in-laws that makes a pot of coffee extra special. I have a mug from my Momma that just holding makes me feel like I received a hug. Little things like this make the coffee experience so much more than just the coffee. Do you enjoy coffee? What special items do you use when you prepare and serve it? Do you have special memories attached when the aroma of a freshly brewed cup reaches your senses? Tell me about it!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Coffee Experience

  1. Rory Richardson says:

    I do like to relax and enjoy a cup of coffee, but rarely actually have the time to do so. I get up and go very early and love gadgets, so I have a single cup coffee maker. Since I am in a hurry, I am mostly drinking it for the caffeine for a long, very early drive to work. I will have time to enjoy it with my wife tomorrow morning, though. We are both off and have nowhere to go. A rare instance, but a welcome one.

    • Its a shame we have to be so busy, but I understand. I drank mine while working this morning. I think I would like a single-cup coffee maker, it is always the freshest that way, and that in-itself is wonderful!

  2. Suzanne Z says:

    green beans that are home roasted becomes the icing on top. Almost like home roasting green chile in a barrel roaster, the smell is like heaven in the kitchen. And it’s something we can share.
    : )

Leave a Reply

