Milking Caper

Sadie

As I left the house to go milk I had no idea of the fun in store tonight. Walking down the hill to the barn I heard the goats calling, which if you have goats you know this is pretty normal at milking (feeding) time. However, this time I knew something was wrong. Not the kind of wrong where you drop everything and go running, but the kind of wrong where you are looking around to find what set you tingling with nerves.

What set my nerves to tingling was that the goats sounded different. Its hard to describe, but I hear exactly the same thing every morning and every evening, day in and day out. So, you just “know” when something isn’t right.

As I approach the gate a head pops through from the garden. I hear a bunch of clattering and some yelling. As I look into my garden I see Pearl (a full size, adult saanen) doing a pirouette on top of our new canoe… which of course is on top of saw-horses.  Dancing with her was Snow Drop (a young nigerian doe) and Rosemary (another nigerian doe). Sadie (big, naughty saanen who was probably the one that led everyone into trouble) was nibbling at my tomato vines with relish. All the other does were zipping up, down, in and under everything, getting tangled in the strings for the peas, running under the canoe covered in dancing goats, and bouncing happily off of walls and chasing the geese, ducks and chickens. I almost fell down laughing and at the same time my heart nearly stopped… the goats had escaped.

In the half-light of dusk I round everyone up and get them back in the pasture, hoping they don’t make a bee-line to where they escaped. As I frantically chase down the last goat leading me on a merry chase I search, looking for how they escaped. There was a crack in the gate. One of my lovely does had managed to unlatch it and lead everyone out for an evening walk and snack (probably Sadie, pure trouble she is!). The only goat that had not left was the matron Ammi, who was snoozing inside the barn waiting for milking time. The fearless protector, Bane, lay in the pasture watching the goings-on with cool disdain, as if he had nothing to do with anything, but I am certain he whispered the idea into Sadie’s ear to get back at me for telling him not to chase the ducks today.

And that is that.  🙂

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Garden, Goats, Homesteading and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Milking Caper

  1. Denise says:

    lol – love it!! Especially the part about Ammi snoozing in the barn like the mature matron she is!!

Leave a Reply

