Ducks are Not Chickens

Today I processed our extra drakes. I figured it was  a little different, but not too much. I pulled up some how-to’s and got busy. Well, it wasn’t quite that simple. First, ducks are built a little different than chickens. Their feathers have a nice bit of water protection and even with a little soap in the water getting through all that protection wasn’t easy for loosening feathers. Second, I don’t have a meat breed of duck, I have a laying breed. They are little under all the fluff, but they do look good even though they may be better for soup than roasting. Last, getting all the feathers off is a major chore with ducks. It took hours to process 5 ducks, and the one rooster I did took 7 minutes total. So, a little warning… ducks are NOT chickens!

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Homesteading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment