Cinnamon Had Her Babies

As you can see from the title, Cinnamon had her babies today. She was a real trooper of a goat as it was a rough delivery. I knew something was off when she seemed to be having contractions and quit. She was weak for some reason, and the kids were in bad positions. The first baby came out fine, but I had to go in and grab the second. It was breech and she was giving up pushing despite all I was doing to help. I found his back legs and gripped them and pulled the next time she tried pushing. He came out, but had aspirated some of the birth fluid. He just flopped, wouldn’t cry or stand up, and so small and thin he must have been conceived later.  I used a bulb syringe to try clearing him up as Cinnamon started trying to push out another kid. It was big, much larger than the first 2. It had aspirated some fluid too, so I swung him by his back legs for a bit to help get the liquid to drain from his lungs. At this time my son JJ is telling me the camera is all black (he was videoing for me, so expect commentary on the 6 year old level when I post it) and Cinnamon stands up and out plops a fourth baby. It too was large, but had not inhaled fluids and was on it’s feet and screaming pretty quickly.

My afternoon was spent trying to get Cinnamon’s babies to nurse or take a bottle. Many hours of frustration later one had nursed and two had taken the bottle. One was holding out, too stubborn to swallow from a bottle and to dense to nurse. He finally got the nursing down at bedtime, and I am ever so thankful! Hopefully the little ones will too. I think Cinnamon was deficient in selenium, despite my giving her a dose, so I may need to pull blood and find out how to get her back in top notch shape. I don’t want to give her too much, but the kids should not have been so weak. I am watching to decide if I need to give them some as well. Most times kidding goes very smoothly, and this wasn’t all that bad either. Just a day in the life of “Farm Girl”  🙂  I am trying to get the video together to share. Nothing like seeing a problem kidding to learn 🙂  (Although we will see just how much my little helper actually got, lol!)

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cinnamon Had Her Babies

  1. Sarah Grove says:

    You are amazing and always a great source of comfort and inspiration!! Keep us posted on those little ones and their Momma’s progress!! Congrats again on a job…VERY WELL DONE!!! ❤

  2. LindaG says:

    Is quads normal? I would think that alone might have drained Cinnamon.
    And I did not know they could conceive at different times in the same pregnancy.
    You did great and I hope for the best for the babies!

    • Quads is on the higher end of normal for nigerian dwarfs, but they can have 6 or 7 successfully as well. Cinnamon tends to have 4. As for conception, I guess it’s more the attachment. They don’t start growing until they attach to the lining and it can be at varying rates. This time it looked like 2 attached first, and 2 later, either that or Cinnamon’s body fed two better than the others.

  3. Laura Little says:

    You do the title of Farm Girl proud! What a thrill to be there for it all and play such an important part in the survival and health of all your little goats!

Leave a comment