The Fall Garden: October 2011

I thought some of you might like to see my garden in October. The climate in our area allows outdoor fall gardens. In other climates you would have to have a greenhouse, and still others no greenhouse is needed at all.

Red Raspberries, Mmmmm!

Bell Peppers

Banana Peppers

Mustard, Kale, Collards, Potatoes (really!)

I had to show you how big the leaves are!

Red Cabbage ( I had broccoli I wanted to plant, but put it in the wrong tray and brought home an entire flat of cabbage)

Rhubarb, still producing!

The beds

Lambs Quarter, a "weed" related to the prized quinoa!

Chickens, look at that soil! Black gold from our animals, turned by the hens.

Roses in bloom

"Peace" rose blooming

So, that is my garden as of today. I love it, and there is so much more than last year. I’m really looking forward to getting the greenhouse started on the other end of the beds. It’s still in the planning stage, but will be better than last year, I’m sure 🙂  (last year I didn’t do a fall or winter garden!)

About nigerianmeadows

I am a homeschooling mother of 2 autistic children and cook gluten-free, I homestead on 2.5 acre and raise goats and chickens for dairy and eggs, I garden, cook, quilt, and take photographs. I build, paint, scrub, and dance on tables. I am the ultimate WOMAN!!! Oh, yeah, and I like my husband a whole lot (he is the one that makes all this possible, and he loves me like no other!)
This entry was posted in Garden, Homesteading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment